what is vegan

Are hydrogenated vegetable fats vegan?

Hydrogenated vegetable fats is a non-vegan food ingredient.

Checking out an ingredients list? 👇

Vegan Ingredient Checker
Scan labels, check if ingredients are vegan
Get on Google PlayGet on App Store

Learn more

"You are amazing, this has saved me so much time when grocery shopping!"

— Austin, a user who reached out with feedback

"It's been a great tool since starting my journey! You take a pic of the nutrition/ingredients, and it'll warn you of anything questionable or not vegan. 😁"

— Ashe, a Vegan For Beginners Facebook Group member

"Use a vegan app when you go shopping, I use WhatsVegan."

— Dóra, a Vegan For Beginners Facebook Group member

So, what is hydrogenated vegetable fats?

Hydrogenated vegetable fats are a type of fat derived from plant-based sources that have undergone a process called hydrogenation. This process involves adding hydrogen atoms to the unsaturated fats found in vegetable oils, which increases their stability and shelf-life. However, this also results in the formation of trans fats, which have been linked to various health issues such as heart disease. As a result, many health experts recommend limiting consumption of foods containing hydrogenated vegetable fats. Despite this, they remain a common ingredient in processed foods due to their low cost and ability to enhance texture and flavor.

How to quickly find the source of ingredients like hydrogenated vegetable fats?

We've built a database of 49359 ingredients (and growing), classified as "vegan", "non-vegan", or "maybe vegan".

We use it in our vegan ingredients scanner, which is the best way to avoid non-vegan ingredients - you take a picture of a product's ingredient list, and the app tells you if the product is vegan or not.

scan ingredient listvegan ingredient checkervegan shopping made simple
Get on Google PlayGet on App Store
Stay in the loop about new WhatsVegan goodies!
We'll never send you spam.
Do you have any feedback? Drop us a line at [email protected] 🙌
The content on this website and the WhatsVegan application is not dietary advice, and it's intended for informational and educational purposes only.Terms of ServicePrivacy policy