what is vegan

Are levures désactivées vegan?

Levures désactivées is a vegan food ingredient.

Checking out an ingredients list? 👇

Vegan Ingredient Checker
Scan labels, check if ingredients are vegan
Get on Google PlayGet on App Store

Learn more

"You are amazing, this has saved me so much time when grocery shopping!"

— Austin, a user who reached out with feedback

"It's been a great tool since starting my journey! You take a pic of the nutrition/ingredients, and it'll warn you of anything questionable or not vegan. 😁"

— Ashe, a Vegan For Beginners Facebook Group member

"Use a vegan app when you go shopping, I use WhatsVegan."

— Dóra, a Vegan For Beginners Facebook Group member

So, what is levures désactivées?

"Levures désactivées" is a French term that refers to deactivated yeasts. These yeasts are a byproduct of the beer and wine-making process and have been inactivated by heat treatment, which prevents them from fermenting. Deactivated yeasts are a common food ingredient used as a flavor enhancer, especially in savory dishes. They have a nutty, slightly cheesy flavor and are rich in protein, fiber, vitamins, and minerals. Deactivated yeasts are also popular among vegans and vegetarians as a source of vitamin B12, which is mostly found in animal products. Overall, levures désactivées are a versatile and nutritious ingredient that can add a unique flavor and nutritional boost to various dishes.

How to quickly find the source of ingredients like levures désactivées?

We've built a database of 49359 ingredients (and growing), classified as "vegan", "non-vegan", or "maybe vegan".

We use it in our vegan ingredients scanner, which is the best way to avoid non-vegan ingredients - you take a picture of a product's ingredient list, and the app tells you if the product is vegan or not.

scan ingredient listvegan ingredient checkervegan shopping made simple
Get on Google PlayGet on App Store
Stay in the loop about new WhatsVegan goodies!
We'll never send you spam.
Do you have any feedback? Drop us a line at [email protected] 🙌
The content on this website and the WhatsVegan application is not dietary advice, and it's intended for informational and educational purposes only.Terms of ServicePrivacy policy