what is vegan

Are maltodextrinas vegan?

Maltodextrinas is a vegan food ingredient.

Checking out an ingredients list? 👇

Vegan Ingredient Checker
Scan labels, check if ingredients are vegan
Get on Google PlayGet on App Store

Learn more

"You are amazing, this has saved me so much time when grocery shopping!"

— Austin, a user who reached out with feedback

"It's been a great tool since starting my journey! You take a pic of the nutrition/ingredients, and it'll warn you of anything questionable or not vegan. 😁"

— Ashe, a Vegan For Beginners Facebook Group member

"Use a vegan app when you go shopping, I use WhatsVegan."

— Dóra, a Vegan For Beginners Facebook Group member

So, what is maltodextrinas?

Maltodextrins are a type of carbohydrate derived from starch, commonly used in the food industry as a thickener, filler, or sweetener. They are created through a process of partial hydrolysis, breaking down the starch into smaller chains of glucose molecules. Maltodextrins have a neutral taste and are highly soluble in water, making them an ideal ingredient for sports drinks, energy bars, and other processed foods. They are also used as a bulking agent in low-calorie and sugar-free products. Maltodextrins are considered safe for consumption, but their high glycemic index can cause blood sugar spikes in people with diabetes or insulin resistance.

How to quickly find the source of ingredients like maltodextrinas?

We've built a database of 49359 ingredients (and growing), classified as "vegan", "non-vegan", or "maybe vegan".

We use it in our vegan ingredients scanner, which is the best way to avoid non-vegan ingredients - you take a picture of a product's ingredient list, and the app tells you if the product is vegan or not.

scan ingredient listvegan ingredient checkervegan shopping made simple
Get on Google PlayGet on App Store
Stay in the loop about new WhatsVegan goodies!
We'll never send you spam.
Do you have any feedback? Drop us a line at [email protected] 🙌
The content on this website and the WhatsVegan application is not dietary advice, and it's intended for informational and educational purposes only.Terms of ServicePrivacy policy