what is vegan

Are muunnettu tärkkelys vegan?

Muunnettu tärkkelys is a vegan food ingredient.

Checking out an ingredients list? 👇

Vegan Ingredient Checker
Scan labels, check if ingredients are vegan
Get on Google PlayGet on App Store

Learn more

"You are amazing, this has saved me so much time when grocery shopping!"

— Austin, a user who reached out with feedback

"It's been a great tool since starting my journey! You take a pic of the nutrition/ingredients, and it'll warn you of anything questionable or not vegan. 😁"

— Ashe, a Vegan For Beginners Facebook Group member

"Use a vegan app when you go shopping, I use WhatsVegan."

— Dóra, a Vegan For Beginners Facebook Group member

So, what is muunnettu tärkkelys?

Muunnettu tärkkelys, also known as modified starch, is a common food ingredient that is derived from corn, potato, or wheat starch. It undergoes a chemical process that alters its structure, making it more versatile and functional in various food applications. Modified starch can be used as a thickener, stabilizer, or emulsifier in a wide range of products, including soups, sauces, desserts, and baked goods. It can also improve the texture and shelf life of food products. Modified starch is considered safe for consumption and is commonly used in the food industry to enhance the quality and consistency of food products.

How to quickly find the source of ingredients like muunnettu tärkkelys?

We've built a database of 49359 ingredients (and growing), classified as "vegan", "non-vegan", or "maybe vegan".

We use it in our vegan ingredients scanner, which is the best way to avoid non-vegan ingredients - you take a picture of a product's ingredient list, and the app tells you if the product is vegan or not.

scan ingredient listvegan ingredient checkervegan shopping made simple
Get on Google PlayGet on App Store
Stay in the loop about new WhatsVegan goodies!
We'll never send you spam.
Do you have any feedback? Drop us a line at [email protected] 🙌
The content on this website and the WhatsVegan application is not dietary advice, and it's intended for informational and educational purposes only.Terms of ServicePrivacy policy