what is vegan

Are poivre gris vegan?

Poivre gris is a vegan food ingredient.

Checking out an ingredients list? 👇

Vegan Ingredient Checker
Scan labels, check if ingredients are vegan
Get on Google PlayGet on App Store

Learn more

"You are amazing, this has saved me so much time when grocery shopping!"

— Austin, a user who reached out with feedback

"It's been a great tool since starting my journey! You take a pic of the nutrition/ingredients, and it'll warn you of anything questionable or not vegan. 😁"

— Ashe, a Vegan For Beginners Facebook Group member

"Use a vegan app when you go shopping, I use WhatsVegan."

— Dóra, a Vegan For Beginners Facebook Group member

So, what is poivre gris?

Poivre gris, also known as black pepper, is a versatile spice that has been a staple in culinary traditions for centuries. This spice comes from the Piper nigrum plant, and its berries are harvested when they are still green and unripe, then sun-dried or roasted until they turn black. Poivre gris has a pungent and spicy flavor that is commonly used to add depth and heat to savory dishes, from meats and soups to marinades and sauces. Its aroma is earthy and floral, with subtle notes of pine and citrus. This widely used spice is not only flavorful but also boasts potential health benefits, such as aiding digestion, improving cognitive function, and reducing inflammation.

How to quickly find the source of ingredients like poivre gris?

We've built a database of 49359 ingredients (and growing), classified as "vegan", "non-vegan", or "maybe vegan".

We use it in our vegan ingredients scanner, which is the best way to avoid non-vegan ingredients - you take a picture of a product's ingredient list, and the app tells you if the product is vegan or not.

scan ingredient listvegan ingredient checkervegan shopping made simple
Get on Google PlayGet on App Store
Stay in the loop about new WhatsVegan goodies!
We'll never send you spam.
Do you have any feedback? Drop us a line at [email protected] 🙌
The content on this website and the WhatsVegan application is not dietary advice, and it's intended for informational and educational purposes only.Terms of ServicePrivacy policy