what is vegan

Are sodium diphosphates vegan?

Sodium diphosphates is a vegan food ingredient.

Checking out an ingredients list? πŸ‘‡

Vegan Ingredient Checker
Scan labels, check if ingredients are vegan
Get on Google PlayGet on App Store

Learn more

"You are amazing, this has saved me so much time when grocery shopping!"

β€” Austin, a user who reached out with feedback

"It's been a great tool since starting my journey! You take a pic of the nutrition/ingredients, and it'll warn you of anything questionable or not vegan. 😁"

β€” Ashe, a Vegan For Beginners Facebook Group member

"Use a vegan app when you go shopping, I use WhatsVegan."

β€” DΓ³ra, a Vegan For Beginners Facebook Group member

So, what is sodium diphosphates?

Sodium diphosphates are a food additive commonly used as a leavening agent, thickener, emulsifier, and stabilizer in a variety of processed foods. These white, crystalline powders are derived from phosphoric acid and sodium carbonate and are generally recognized as safe by the FDA when used in regulated quantities. Sodium diphosphates help improve the texture, flavor, and shelf life of baked goods, meat products, canned vegetables, and dairy products. However, excessive intake of sodium diphosphates may lead to health complications, such as cardiovascular disease, hypertension, and kidney damage. Therefore, it is essential to consume them in moderation.

How to quickly find the source of ingredients like sodium diphosphates?

We've built a database of 49359 ingredients (and growing), classified as "vegan", "non-vegan", or "maybe vegan".

We use it in our vegan ingredients scanner, which is the best way to avoid non-vegan ingredients - you take a picture of a product's ingredient list, and the app tells you if the product is vegan or not.

scan ingredient listvegan ingredient checkervegan shopping made simple
Get on Google PlayGet on App Store
Stay in the loop about new WhatsVegan goodies!
We'll never send you spam.
Do you have any feedback? Drop us a line at [email protected] πŸ™Œ
The content on this website and the WhatsVegan application is not dietary advice, and it's intended for informational and educational purposes only.Terms of ServicePrivacy policy