what is vegan

Are sodium salts of fatty acids vegan?

Sodium salts of fatty acids is potentially vegan - it can be derived from plants or animals. You should ask the manufacturer for more details.

Checking out an ingredients list? 👇

Vegan Ingredient Checker
Scan labels, check if ingredients are vegan
Get on Google PlayGet on App Store

Learn more

"You are amazing, this has saved me so much time when grocery shopping!"

— Austin, a user who reached out with feedback

"It's been a great tool since starting my journey! You take a pic of the nutrition/ingredients, and it'll warn you of anything questionable or not vegan. 😁"

— Ashe, a Vegan For Beginners Facebook Group member

"Use a vegan app when you go shopping, I use WhatsVegan."

— Dóra, a Vegan For Beginners Facebook Group member

So, what is sodium salts of fatty acids?

Sodium salts of fatty acids, also known as sodium stearate or sodium palmitate, are a type of emulsifier and stabilizer commonly used in the food industry. They are derived from natural sources such as vegetable oils and animal fats and are commonly used in processed foods, baked goods, and dairy products to improve texture, prevent separation of ingredients, and extend shelf life. Sodium salts of fatty acids are also used in the production of soap, detergents, and personal care products due to their ability to create a foaming lather. While generally recognized as safe by regulatory agencies, some individuals may have an adverse reaction to these ingredients.

How to quickly find the source of ingredients like sodium salts of fatty acids?

We've built a database of 49359 ingredients (and growing), classified as "vegan", "non-vegan", or "maybe vegan".

We use it in our vegan ingredients scanner, which is the best way to avoid non-vegan ingredients - you take a picture of a product's ingredient list, and the app tells you if the product is vegan or not.

scan ingredient listvegan ingredient checkervegan shopping made simple
Get on Google PlayGet on App Store
Stay in the loop about new WhatsVegan goodies!
We'll never send you spam.
Do you have any feedback? Drop us a line at [email protected] 🙌
The content on this website and the WhatsVegan application is not dietary advice, and it's intended for informational and educational purposes only.Terms of ServicePrivacy policy