what is vegan

Are tallow glycerides vegan?

Tallow glycerides is a non-vegan food ingredient.

Checking out an ingredients list? πŸ‘‡

Vegan Ingredient Checker
Scan labels, check if ingredients are vegan
Get on Google PlayGet on App Store

Learn more

"You are amazing, this has saved me so much time when grocery shopping!"

β€” Austin, a user who reached out with feedback

"It's been a great tool since starting my journey! You take a pic of the nutrition/ingredients, and it'll warn you of anything questionable or not vegan. 😁"

β€” Ashe, a Vegan For Beginners Facebook Group member

"Use a vegan app when you go shopping, I use WhatsVegan."

β€” DΓ³ra, a Vegan For Beginners Facebook Group member

So, what is tallow glycerides?

Tallow glycerides are a versatile food ingredient derived from animal fats. They are composed of a blend of glycerol esters of saturated and unsaturated fatty acids, which are extracted from tallow, a rendered form of beef or mutton fat. Tallow glycerides have a smooth texture and are commonly used as emulsifiers, stabilizers, and texturizers in a wide range of food products, such as baked goods, confectionery, and dairy products. They also offer functional benefits such as improved mouthfeel and extended shelf life. Despite their animal origin, tallow glycerides are considered safe for consumption and are widely used in the food industry.

How to quickly find the source of ingredients like tallow glycerides?

We've built a database of 49359 ingredients (and growing), classified as "vegan", "non-vegan", or "maybe vegan".

We use it in our vegan ingredients scanner, which is the best way to avoid non-vegan ingredients - you take a picture of a product's ingredient list, and the app tells you if the product is vegan or not.

scan ingredient listvegan ingredient checkervegan shopping made simple
Get on Google PlayGet on App Store
Stay in the loop about new WhatsVegan goodies!
We'll never send you spam.
Do you have any feedback? Drop us a line at [email protected] πŸ™Œ
The content on this website and the WhatsVegan application is not dietary advice, and it's intended for informational and educational purposes only.Terms of ServicePrivacy policy