what is vegan

Are vegetable shortenings vegan?

Vegetable shortenings is potentially vegan - it can be derived from plants or animals. You should ask the manufacturer for more details.

Checking out an ingredients list? πŸ‘‡

Vegan Ingredient Checker
Scan labels, check if ingredients are vegan
Get on Google PlayGet on App Store

Learn more

"You are amazing, this has saved me so much time when grocery shopping!"

β€” Austin, a user who reached out with feedback

"It's been a great tool since starting my journey! You take a pic of the nutrition/ingredients, and it'll warn you of anything questionable or not vegan. 😁"

β€” Ashe, a Vegan For Beginners Facebook Group member

"Use a vegan app when you go shopping, I use WhatsVegan."

β€” DΓ³ra, a Vegan For Beginners Facebook Group member

So, what is vegetable shortenings?

Vegetable shortenings are plant-based fats commonly used in baking, frying, and cooking. These solid fats are made from vegetable oils that have been hydrogenated to increase their stability and shelf life. They are a popular substitute for butter, lard, or other animal-based fats, as they are cholesterol-free and have a lower saturated fat content. Vegetable shortenings are versatile ingredients that can be used to create flaky pastries, crispy fried foods, and tender cakes. They come in different forms, including sticks, blocks, or tubs, and can be found in most grocery stores.

How to quickly find the source of ingredients like vegetable shortenings?

We've built a database of 49359 ingredients (and growing), classified as "vegan", "non-vegan", or "maybe vegan".

We use it in our vegan ingredients scanner, which is the best way to avoid non-vegan ingredients - you take a picture of a product's ingredient list, and the app tells you if the product is vegan or not.

scan ingredient listvegan ingredient checkervegan shopping made simple
Get on Google PlayGet on App Store
Stay in the loop about new WhatsVegan goodies!
We'll never send you spam.
Do you have any feedback? Drop us a line at [email protected] πŸ™Œ
The content on this website and the WhatsVegan application is not dietary advice, and it's intended for informational and educational purposes only.Terms of ServicePrivacy policy