what is vegan

Is acetylated lanolin ricinoleate vegan?

Acetylated lanolin ricinoleate is a non-vegan food ingredient.

Checking out an ingredients list? πŸ‘‡

Vegan Ingredient Checker
Scan labels, check if ingredients are vegan
Get on Google PlayGet on App Store

Learn more

"You are amazing, this has saved me so much time when grocery shopping!"

β€” Austin, a user who reached out with feedback

"It's been a great tool since starting my journey! You take a pic of the nutrition/ingredients, and it'll warn you of anything questionable or not vegan. 😁"

β€” Ashe, a Vegan For Beginners Facebook Group member

"Use a vegan app when you go shopping, I use WhatsVegan."

β€” DΓ³ra, a Vegan For Beginners Facebook Group member

So, what is acetylated lanolin ricinoleate?

Acetylated lanolin ricinoleate is a natural and versatile food ingredient derived from lanolin, a wax-like substance obtained from sheep's wool. This ingredient is a derivative of ricinoleic acid, which is found in castor oil. It functions as a thickening agent and emulsifier, helping to blend together ingredients that would otherwise separate. Acetylated lanolin ricinoleate is used in a variety of food applications, such as baked goods, confections, and sauces, to improve texture and stability. Additionally, it is prized for its moisturizing properties and is commonly used in cosmetic and skincare products as well.

How to quickly find the source of ingredients like acetylated lanolin ricinoleate?

We've built a database of 49359 ingredients (and growing), classified as "vegan", "non-vegan", or "maybe vegan".

We use it in our vegan ingredients scanner, which is the best way to avoid non-vegan ingredients - you take a picture of a product's ingredient list, and the app tells you if the product is vegan or not.

scan ingredient listvegan ingredient checkervegan shopping made simple
Get on Google PlayGet on App Store
Stay in the loop about new WhatsVegan goodies!
We'll never send you spam.
Do you have any feedback? Drop us a line at [email protected] πŸ™Œ
The content on this website and the WhatsVegan application is not dietary advice, and it's intended for informational and educational purposes only.Terms of ServicePrivacy policy