what is vegan

Is acide propionique vegan?

Acide propionique is a vegan food ingredient.

Checking out an ingredients list? 👇

Vegan Ingredient Checker
Scan labels, check if ingredients are vegan
Get on Google PlayGet on App Store

Learn more

"You are amazing, this has saved me so much time when grocery shopping!"

— Austin, a user who reached out with feedback

"It's been a great tool since starting my journey! You take a pic of the nutrition/ingredients, and it'll warn you of anything questionable or not vegan. 😁"

— Ashe, a Vegan For Beginners Facebook Group member

"Use a vegan app when you go shopping, I use WhatsVegan."

— Dóra, a Vegan For Beginners Facebook Group member

So, what is acide propionique?

Acide propionique, also known as propionic acid, is a naturally occurring organic acid that is commonly used as a food preservative. It is a colorless liquid with a pungent odor and sour taste. Acide propionique is produced by bacteria during the fermentation of certain foods, such as cheese and bread. As a food preservative, it is highly effective in preventing the growth of mold and bacteria, and is commonly used in baked goods, dairy products, and processed meats. Acide propionique has also been shown to have potential health benefits, such as improving gut health and reducing inflammation. However, it should be consumed in moderation, as excessive consumption may lead to adverse health effects.

How to quickly find the source of ingredients like acide propionique?

We've built a database of 49359 ingredients (and growing), classified as "vegan", "non-vegan", or "maybe vegan".

We use it in our vegan ingredients scanner, which is the best way to avoid non-vegan ingredients - you take a picture of a product's ingredient list, and the app tells you if the product is vegan or not.

scan ingredient listvegan ingredient checkervegan shopping made simple
Get on Google PlayGet on App Store
Stay in the loop about new WhatsVegan goodies!
We'll never send you spam.
Do you have any feedback? Drop us a line at [email protected] 🙌
The content on this website and the WhatsVegan application is not dietary advice, and it's intended for informational and educational purposes only.Terms of ServicePrivacy policy