what is vegan

Is alginate de potassium vegan?

Alginate de potassium is a vegan food ingredient.

Checking out an ingredients list? 👇

Vegan Ingredient Checker
Scan labels, check if ingredients are vegan
Get on Google PlayGet on App Store

Learn more

"You are amazing, this has saved me so much time when grocery shopping!"

— Austin, a user who reached out with feedback

"It's been a great tool since starting my journey! You take a pic of the nutrition/ingredients, and it'll warn you of anything questionable or not vegan. 😁"

— Ashe, a Vegan For Beginners Facebook Group member

"Use a vegan app when you go shopping, I use WhatsVegan."

— Dóra, a Vegan For Beginners Facebook Group member

So, what is alginate de potassium?

Alginate de potassium is a food ingredient that is derived from brown seaweed. It is a water-soluble salt that is commonly used in the food industry as a thickening, stabilizing, and gelling agent. Alginate de potassium is particularly useful in the production of dairy products, such as yogurt and ice cream, as it can improve texture, increase viscosity, and prevent syneresis. This ingredient is also used in the creation of edible films and coatings, making it a versatile ingredient in food production. Alginate de potassium is considered safe for consumption and is often used in vegan and vegetarian products as an alternative to gelatin.

How to quickly find the source of ingredients like alginate de potassium?

We've built a database of 49359 ingredients (and growing), classified as "vegan", "non-vegan", or "maybe vegan".

We use it in our vegan ingredients scanner, which is the best way to avoid non-vegan ingredients - you take a picture of a product's ingredient list, and the app tells you if the product is vegan or not.

scan ingredient listvegan ingredient checkervegan shopping made simple
Get on Google PlayGet on App Store
Stay in the loop about new WhatsVegan goodies!
We'll never send you spam.
Do you have any feedback? Drop us a line at [email protected] 🙌
The content on this website and the WhatsVegan application is not dietary advice, and it's intended for informational and educational purposes only.Terms of ServicePrivacy policy