what is vegan

Is allantoinate vegan?

Allantoinate is potentially vegan - it can be derived from plants or animals. You should ask the manufacturer for more details.

Checking out an ingredients list? πŸ‘‡

Vegan Ingredient Checker
Scan labels, check if ingredients are vegan
Get on Google PlayGet on App Store

Learn more

"You are amazing, this has saved me so much time when grocery shopping!"

β€” Austin, a user who reached out with feedback

"It's been a great tool since starting my journey! You take a pic of the nutrition/ingredients, and it'll warn you of anything questionable or not vegan. 😁"

β€” Ashe, a Vegan For Beginners Facebook Group member

"Use a vegan app when you go shopping, I use WhatsVegan."

β€” DΓ³ra, a Vegan For Beginners Facebook Group member

So, what is allantoinate?

Allantoinate is a naturally occurring compound that is widely used in the food industry as an additive. It is derived from allantoin, a substance that is found in many plants such as comfrey, wheat sprouts, and sugar beet. Allantoinate has a white crystalline appearance and is highly soluble in water. It is used as a food supplement due to its potential health benefits, including its ability to improve skin health, boost the immune system, and enhance wound healing. As a food ingredient, allantoinate is considered safe and has no known adverse effects. Its unique properties make it a popular ingredient in many food products, including beverages, baked goods, and supplements.

How to quickly find the source of ingredients like allantoinate?

We've built a database of 49359 ingredients (and growing), classified as "vegan", "non-vegan", or "maybe vegan".

We use it in our vegan ingredients scanner, which is the best way to avoid non-vegan ingredients - you take a picture of a product's ingredient list, and the app tells you if the product is vegan or not.

scan ingredient listvegan ingredient checkervegan shopping made simple
Get on Google PlayGet on App Store
Stay in the loop about new WhatsVegan goodies!
We'll never send you spam.
Do you have any feedback? Drop us a line at [email protected] πŸ™Œ
The content on this website and the WhatsVegan application is not dietary advice, and it's intended for informational and educational purposes only.Terms of ServicePrivacy policy