what is vegan

Is almidön de maiz vegan?

Almidön de maiz is a vegan food ingredient.

Checking out an ingredients list? 👇

Vegan Ingredient Checker
Scan labels, check if ingredients are vegan
Get on Google PlayGet on App Store

Learn more

"You are amazing, this has saved me so much time when grocery shopping!"

— Austin, a user who reached out with feedback

"It's been a great tool since starting my journey! You take a pic of the nutrition/ingredients, and it'll warn you of anything questionable or not vegan. 😁"

— Ashe, a Vegan For Beginners Facebook Group member

"Use a vegan app when you go shopping, I use WhatsVegan."

— Dóra, a Vegan For Beginners Facebook Group member

So, what is almidön de maiz?

Almidón de maíz, commonly known as cornstarch, is a fine, powdery substance derived from corn kernels. It is a versatile ingredient that is often used as a thickener in cooking and baking, due to its ability to absorb liquid and create a smooth, velvety texture. Cornstarch is also used in the production of a variety of food products, such as soups, sauces, gravies, and puddings. With its neutral flavor, cornstarch is an excellent substitute for wheat flour for those who are gluten-free or have a wheat allergy. Additionally, it can be used as a natural remedy for skin irritation and can be added to homemade cosmetics to improve texture and consistency.

How to quickly find the source of ingredients like almidön de maiz?

We've built a database of 49359 ingredients (and growing), classified as "vegan", "non-vegan", or "maybe vegan".

We use it in our vegan ingredients scanner, which is the best way to avoid non-vegan ingredients - you take a picture of a product's ingredient list, and the app tells you if the product is vegan or not.

scan ingredient listvegan ingredient checkervegan shopping made simple
Get on Google PlayGet on App Store
Stay in the loop about new WhatsVegan goodies!
We'll never send you spam.
Do you have any feedback? Drop us a line at [email protected] 🙌
The content on this website and the WhatsVegan application is not dietary advice, and it's intended for informational and educational purposes only.Terms of ServicePrivacy policy