what is vegan

Is aluminum stearate vegan?

Aluminum stearate is a vegan food ingredient.

Checking out an ingredients list? 👇

Vegan Ingredient Checker
Scan labels, check if ingredients are vegan
Get on Google PlayGet on App Store

Learn more

"You are amazing, this has saved me so much time when grocery shopping!"

— Austin, a user who reached out with feedback

"It's been a great tool since starting my journey! You take a pic of the nutrition/ingredients, and it'll warn you of anything questionable or not vegan. 😁"

— Ashe, a Vegan For Beginners Facebook Group member

"Use a vegan app when you go shopping, I use WhatsVegan."

— Dóra, a Vegan For Beginners Facebook Group member

So, what is aluminum stearate?

Aluminum stearate is a chemical compound that is commonly used in the food industry as an emulsifier, thickener, and anti-caking agent. It is formed by reacting stearic acid with aluminum hydroxide to create a white powder that is insoluble in water. Aluminum stearate can be found in many processed foods, including baked goods, confectionery, and margarine. It helps improve texture and stability, while also preventing clumping or sticking. While there are some concerns about the safety of consuming aluminum, the amounts used in food additives like aluminum stearate are generally considered to be safe by regulatory agencies.

How to quickly find the source of ingredients like aluminum stearate?

We've built a database of 49359 ingredients (and growing), classified as "vegan", "non-vegan", or "maybe vegan".

We use it in our vegan ingredients scanner, which is the best way to avoid non-vegan ingredients - you take a picture of a product's ingredient list, and the app tells you if the product is vegan or not.

scan ingredient listvegan ingredient checkervegan shopping made simple
Get on Google PlayGet on App Store
Stay in the loop about new WhatsVegan goodies!
We'll never send you spam.
Do you have any feedback? Drop us a line at [email protected] 🙌
The content on this website and the WhatsVegan application is not dietary advice, and it's intended for informational and educational purposes only.Terms of ServicePrivacy policy