what is vegan

Is ättika vegan?

Ättika is a vegan food ingredient.

Checking out an ingredients list? 👇

Vegan Ingredient Checker
Scan labels, check if ingredients are vegan
Get on Google PlayGet on App Store

Learn more

"You are amazing, this has saved me so much time when grocery shopping!"

— Austin, a user who reached out with feedback

"It's been a great tool since starting my journey! You take a pic of the nutrition/ingredients, and it'll warn you of anything questionable or not vegan. 😁"

— Ashe, a Vegan For Beginners Facebook Group member

"Use a vegan app when you go shopping, I use WhatsVegan."

— Dóra, a Vegan For Beginners Facebook Group member

So, what is ättika?

Ättika is a type of vinegar that originates from Sweden. It is made from fermented grain and has a distinct sharp and sour taste. Unlike most vinegars, ättika has a high acidity level of 24%, making it ideal for preserving and pickling foods. It is a common ingredient in traditional Swedish cuisine, used in dishes such as pickled herring and cucumber salad. Ättika can also be used as a condiment or salad dressing, adding a tangy and acidic flavor to any dish. Its unique flavor profile and versatility make it a must-have ingredient in any kitchen.

How to quickly find the source of ingredients like ättika?

We've built a database of 49359 ingredients (and growing), classified as "vegan", "non-vegan", or "maybe vegan".

We use it in our vegan ingredients scanner, which is the best way to avoid non-vegan ingredients - you take a picture of a product's ingredient list, and the app tells you if the product is vegan or not.

scan ingredient listvegan ingredient checkervegan shopping made simple
Get on Google PlayGet on App Store
Stay in the loop about new WhatsVegan goodies!
We'll never send you spam.
Do you have any feedback? Drop us a line at [email protected] 🙌
The content on this website and the WhatsVegan application is not dietary advice, and it's intended for informational and educational purposes only.Terms of ServicePrivacy policy