what is vegan

Is au caramel vegan?

Au caramel is a vegan food ingredient.

Checking out an ingredients list? 👇

Vegan Ingredient Checker
Scan labels, check if ingredients are vegan
Get on Google PlayGet on App Store

Learn more

"You are amazing, this has saved me so much time when grocery shopping!"

— Austin, a user who reached out with feedback

"It's been a great tool since starting my journey! You take a pic of the nutrition/ingredients, and it'll warn you of anything questionable or not vegan. 😁"

— Ashe, a Vegan For Beginners Facebook Group member

"Use a vegan app when you go shopping, I use WhatsVegan."

— Dóra, a Vegan For Beginners Facebook Group member

So, what is au caramel?

"Au caramel" is a French term that translates to "with caramel" in English, and it refers to a food ingredient that has been infused or coated with caramel. Caramel is made by heating sugar until it melts and turns into a golden-brown syrup, which is then used to add flavor, sweetness, and a rich, creamy texture to a wide range of desserts and sweets. When used as an ingredient, "au caramel" can lend a subtle, nutty flavor to baked goods, ice cream, and candies, and it can also be used as a topping or filling for cakes, pastries, and other treats. Its decadent taste and texture make it a beloved ingredient in French cuisine, and it's sure to add a touch of sophistication and indulgence to any dish.

How to quickly find the source of ingredients like au caramel?

We've built a database of 49359 ingredients (and growing), classified as "vegan", "non-vegan", or "maybe vegan".

We use it in our vegan ingredients scanner, which is the best way to avoid non-vegan ingredients - you take a picture of a product's ingredient list, and the app tells you if the product is vegan or not.

scan ingredient listvegan ingredient checkervegan shopping made simple
Get on Google PlayGet on App Store
Stay in the loop about new WhatsVegan goodies!
We'll never send you spam.
Do you have any feedback? Drop us a line at [email protected] 🙌
The content on this website and the WhatsVegan application is not dietary advice, and it's intended for informational and educational purposes only.Terms of ServicePrivacy policy