what is vegan

Is calcium malate vegan?

Calcium malate is a vegan food ingredient.

Checking out an ingredients list? πŸ‘‡

Vegan Ingredient Checker
Scan labels, check if ingredients are vegan
Get on Google PlayGet on App Store

Learn more

"You are amazing, this has saved me so much time when grocery shopping!"

β€” Austin, a user who reached out with feedback

"It's been a great tool since starting my journey! You take a pic of the nutrition/ingredients, and it'll warn you of anything questionable or not vegan. 😁"

β€” Ashe, a Vegan For Beginners Facebook Group member

"Use a vegan app when you go shopping, I use WhatsVegan."

β€” DΓ³ra, a Vegan For Beginners Facebook Group member

So, what is calcium malate?

Calcium malate is a calcium salt of malic acid, a naturally occurring organic acid found in fruits and vegetables. It is a white, odorless powder that is highly soluble in water, making it an excellent source of calcium in dietary supplements and fortified foods. Calcium malate is known for its superior bioavailability, which means it can be easily absorbed and utilized by the body. It is also non-acidic, making it an ideal alternative to other calcium salts that can cause digestive discomfort. This versatile ingredient is commonly used in food, beverage, and supplement formulations to promote healthy bones and teeth, and support overall health and wellness.

How to quickly find the source of ingredients like calcium malate?

We've built a database of 49359 ingredients (and growing), classified as "vegan", "non-vegan", or "maybe vegan".

We use it in our vegan ingredients scanner, which is the best way to avoid non-vegan ingredients - you take a picture of a product's ingredient list, and the app tells you if the product is vegan or not.

scan ingredient listvegan ingredient checkervegan shopping made simple
Get on Google PlayGet on App Store
Stay in the loop about new WhatsVegan goodies!
We'll never send you spam.
Do you have any feedback? Drop us a line at [email protected] πŸ™Œ
The content on this website and the WhatsVegan application is not dietary advice, and it's intended for informational and educational purposes only.Terms of ServicePrivacy policy