what is vegan

Is carboxyméthyl cellulose de sodium vegan?

Carboxyméthyl cellulose de sodium is a vegan food ingredient.

Checking out an ingredients list? 👇

Vegan Ingredient Checker
Scan labels, check if ingredients are vegan
Get on Google PlayGet on App Store

Learn more

"You are amazing, this has saved me so much time when grocery shopping!"

— Austin, a user who reached out with feedback

"It's been a great tool since starting my journey! You take a pic of the nutrition/ingredients, and it'll warn you of anything questionable or not vegan. 😁"

— Ashe, a Vegan For Beginners Facebook Group member

"Use a vegan app when you go shopping, I use WhatsVegan."

— Dóra, a Vegan For Beginners Facebook Group member

So, what is carboxyméthyl cellulose de sodium?

Carboxymethyl cellulose de sodium (CMC) is a water-soluble polymer derived from cellulose, a natural substance found in plants. It is a commonly used food ingredient due to its ability to act as a thickener, stabilizer, and emulsifier. CMC is widely used in the food industry to improve the texture and consistency of various products such as ice cream, sauces, and dressings. It can also help prevent crystallization, improve freeze-thaw stability, and enhance the overall shelf life of food products. CMC is a safe and effective food ingredient that is widely recognized and approved by regulatory agencies around the world.

How to quickly find the source of ingredients like carboxyméthyl cellulose de sodium?

We've built a database of 49359 ingredients (and growing), classified as "vegan", "non-vegan", or "maybe vegan".

We use it in our vegan ingredients scanner, which is the best way to avoid non-vegan ingredients - you take a picture of a product's ingredient list, and the app tells you if the product is vegan or not.

scan ingredient listvegan ingredient checkervegan shopping made simple
Get on Google PlayGet on App Store
Stay in the loop about new WhatsVegan goodies!
We'll never send you spam.
Do you have any feedback? Drop us a line at [email protected] 🙌
The content on this website and the WhatsVegan application is not dietary advice, and it's intended for informational and educational purposes only.Terms of ServicePrivacy policy