what is vegan

Is carraghénane e407 vegan?

Carrageenan E407 is a natural food ingredient extracted from red seaweed. It has excellent gelling, thickening, and stabilizing properties, making it a popular additive in the food industry. Carrageenan is used in a wide variety of products, including dairy, meat, and plant-based alternatives to create a desirable texture and mouthfeel. Additionally, carrageenan is also used as an emulsifier and a fat replacer, serving as a healthier alternative to traditional ingredients. Despite controversy surrounding its safety in recent years, carrageenan remains a versatile and widely-used ingredient in many processed foods.

Carraghénane e407 is a vegan food ingredient.

Checking out an ingredients list? 👇

Scan ingredients and find vegan products
You snap a pic, and we search for animal ingredients. Simple.
Check if a product is vegan in 7 seconds and avoid vegan traps.
Get on Google PlayGet on App Store

Learn more

How to quickly find the source of ingredients like carraghénane e407?

We've built a database of 49359 ingredients (and growing), classified as "vegan", "non-vegan", or "maybe vegan".

We use it in our vegan ingredients scanner, which is the best way to avoid non-vegan ingredients - you take a picture of a product's ingredient list, and the app tells you if the product is vegan or not.

scan ingredient listvegan ingredient checkervegan shopping made simple
Get on Google PlayGet on App Store

Stay in the loop about new WhatsVegan goodies!
We'll never send you spam.

Do you have any feedback? Drop us a line at hello@whatsvegan.app 🙌

The content on this website and the WhatsVegan application is not dietary advice, and it's intended for informational and educational purposes only.Terms of ServicePrivacy policy