what is vegan

Is cisteina vegan?

Cisteina is potentially vegan - it can be derived from plants or animals. You should ask the manufacturer for more details.

Checking out an ingredients list? 👇

Vegan Ingredient Checker
Scan labels, check if ingredients are vegan
Get on Google PlayGet on App Store

Learn more

"You are amazing, this has saved me so much time when grocery shopping!"

— Austin, a user who reached out with feedback

"It's been a great tool since starting my journey! You take a pic of the nutrition/ingredients, and it'll warn you of anything questionable or not vegan. 😁"

— Ashe, a Vegan For Beginners Facebook Group member

"Use a vegan app when you go shopping, I use WhatsVegan."

— Dóra, a Vegan For Beginners Facebook Group member

So, what is cisteina?

Cysteine is a naturally occurring amino acid found in many high-protein foods such as poultry, eggs, and dairy products. It is also commonly used as a food ingredient in the form of L-cysteine, which is derived from human hair, duck feathers, or pig bristles. L-cysteine is used as a dough conditioner in breadmaking, to improve texture and extend shelf life. It is also added to some processed foods as a flavor enhancer and as a source of sulfur, which is necessary for many biological functions in the body. In addition, cysteine has been studied for its potential health benefits, including antioxidant and anti-inflammatory properties.

How to quickly find the source of ingredients like cisteina?

We've built a database of 49359 ingredients (and growing), classified as "vegan", "non-vegan", or "maybe vegan".

We use it in our vegan ingredients scanner, which is the best way to avoid non-vegan ingredients - you take a picture of a product's ingredient list, and the app tells you if the product is vegan or not.

scan ingredient listvegan ingredient checkervegan shopping made simple
Get on Google PlayGet on App Store
Stay in the loop about new WhatsVegan goodies!
We'll never send you spam.
Do you have any feedback? Drop us a line at [email protected] 🙌
The content on this website and the WhatsVegan application is not dietary advice, and it's intended for informational and educational purposes only.Terms of ServicePrivacy policy