what is vegan

Is cochineal dye vegan?

Cochineal dye is a non-vegan food ingredient.

Checking out an ingredients list? 👇

Vegan Ingredient Checker
Scan labels, check if ingredients are vegan
Get on Google PlayGet on App Store

Learn more

"You are amazing, this has saved me so much time when grocery shopping!"

— Austin, a user who reached out with feedback

"It's been a great tool since starting my journey! You take a pic of the nutrition/ingredients, and it'll warn you of anything questionable or not vegan. 😁"

— Ashe, a Vegan For Beginners Facebook Group member

"Use a vegan app when you go shopping, I use WhatsVegan."

— Dóra, a Vegan For Beginners Facebook Group member

So, what is cochineal dye?

Cochineal dye is a natural red pigment derived from the bodies of female cochineal insects, native to Central and South America. These tiny insects, which are about the size of a grain of rice, produce a deep red pigment when they are crushed. The dye has been used for centuries to color fabrics and cosmetics, but it is also used as a food coloring agent, particularly in the production of beverages and processed foods. Cochineal dye is highly sought after due to its intense, vibrant hue and the fact that it is a natural, plant-based alternative to synthetic food dyes. However, it can trigger allergic reactions in some people and vegans may avoid it as it is an animal product.

How to quickly find the source of ingredients like cochineal dye?

We've built a database of 49359 ingredients (and growing), classified as "vegan", "non-vegan", or "maybe vegan".

We use it in our vegan ingredients scanner, which is the best way to avoid non-vegan ingredients - you take a picture of a product's ingredient list, and the app tells you if the product is vegan or not.

scan ingredient listvegan ingredient checkervegan shopping made simple
Get on Google PlayGet on App Store
Stay in the loop about new WhatsVegan goodies!
We'll never send you spam.
Do you have any feedback? Drop us a line at [email protected] 🙌
The content on this website and the WhatsVegan application is not dietary advice, and it's intended for informational and educational purposes only.Terms of ServicePrivacy policy