what is vegan

Is croscarmellose sodium vegan?

Croscarmellose sodium is a vegan food ingredient.

Checking out an ingredients list? 👇

Vegan Ingredient Checker
Scan labels, check if ingredients are vegan
Get on Google PlayGet on App Store

Learn more

"You are amazing, this has saved me so much time when grocery shopping!"

— Austin, a user who reached out with feedback

"It's been a great tool since starting my journey! You take a pic of the nutrition/ingredients, and it'll warn you of anything questionable or not vegan. 😁"

— Ashe, a Vegan For Beginners Facebook Group member

"Use a vegan app when you go shopping, I use WhatsVegan."

— Dóra, a Vegan For Beginners Facebook Group member

So, what is croscarmellose sodium?

Croscarmellose sodium is a commonly used food ingredient that acts as a disintegrant, facilitating the break-up of tablets and capsules in the digestive tract. It is a white, odorless powder that is highly soluble in water and is derived from wood pulp or cotton linter. Croscarmellose sodium is widely used in the food industry as a texturizer, thickener, and emulsifier, and is commonly found in baked goods, dairy products, and sauces. It can also be used in dietary supplements and pharmaceuticals to help increase the absorption of active ingredients. Despite concerns about its safety, croscarmellose sodium is generally recognized as safe by regulatory authorities around the world.

How to quickly find the source of ingredients like croscarmellose sodium?

We've built a database of 49359 ingredients (and growing), classified as "vegan", "non-vegan", or "maybe vegan".

We use it in our vegan ingredients scanner, which is the best way to avoid non-vegan ingredients - you take a picture of a product's ingredient list, and the app tells you if the product is vegan or not.

scan ingredient listvegan ingredient checkervegan shopping made simple
Get on Google PlayGet on App Store
Stay in the loop about new WhatsVegan goodies!
We'll never send you spam.
Do you have any feedback? Drop us a line at [email protected] 🙌
The content on this website and the WhatsVegan application is not dietary advice, and it's intended for informational and educational purposes only.Terms of ServicePrivacy policy