what is vegan

Is dimethyl behenamine vegan?

Dimethyl behenamine is potentially vegan - it can be derived from plants or animals. You should ask the manufacturer for more details.

Checking out an ingredients list? πŸ‘‡

Vegan Ingredient Checker
Scan labels, check if ingredients are vegan
Get on Google PlayGet on App Store

Learn more

"You are amazing, this has saved me so much time when grocery shopping!"

β€” Austin, a user who reached out with feedback

"It's been a great tool since starting my journey! You take a pic of the nutrition/ingredients, and it'll warn you of anything questionable or not vegan. 😁"

β€” Ashe, a Vegan For Beginners Facebook Group member

"Use a vegan app when you go shopping, I use WhatsVegan."

β€” DΓ³ra, a Vegan For Beginners Facebook Group member

So, what is dimethyl behenamine?

Dimethyl behenamine is a fatty amine commonly used as a food ingredient and emulsifier in various applications. It is derived from behenic acid, a naturally occurring fatty acid found in plants such as moringa and rapeseed. This white, odorless powder has a high melting point and is soluble in alcohol and oil-based solvents. As an emulsifier, dimethyl behenamine helps to blend oil and water-based ingredients, creating a smooth and uniform texture in products such as salad dressings, sauces, and baked goods. It is also used as an anti-static agent in food packaging and as a conditioning agent in personal care products.

How to quickly find the source of ingredients like dimethyl behenamine?

We've built a database of 49359 ingredients (and growing), classified as "vegan", "non-vegan", or "maybe vegan".

We use it in our vegan ingredients scanner, which is the best way to avoid non-vegan ingredients - you take a picture of a product's ingredient list, and the app tells you if the product is vegan or not.

scan ingredient listvegan ingredient checkervegan shopping made simple
Get on Google PlayGet on App Store
Stay in the loop about new WhatsVegan goodies!
We'll never send you spam.
Do you have any feedback? Drop us a line at [email protected] πŸ™Œ
The content on this website and the WhatsVegan application is not dietary advice, and it's intended for informational and educational purposes only.Terms of ServicePrivacy policy