what is vegan

Is dinátrium-guanilát vegan?

Dinátrium-guanilát is potentially vegan - it can be derived from plants or animals. You should ask the manufacturer for more details.

Checking out an ingredients list? 👇

Vegan Ingredient Checker
Scan labels, check if ingredients are vegan
Get on Google PlayGet on App Store

Learn more

"You are amazing, this has saved me so much time when grocery shopping!"

— Austin, a user who reached out with feedback

"It's been a great tool since starting my journey! You take a pic of the nutrition/ingredients, and it'll warn you of anything questionable or not vegan. 😁"

— Ashe, a Vegan For Beginners Facebook Group member

"Use a vegan app when you go shopping, I use WhatsVegan."

— Dóra, a Vegan For Beginners Facebook Group member

So, what is dinátrium-guanilát?

Dinátrium-guanilát, also known as disodium guanylate, is a food additive commonly used to enhance the savory taste of foods. It is a white, odorless, and crystalline powder that is soluble in water. Dinátrium-guanilát is derived from the nucleotide guanosine monophosphate (GMP), which is naturally present in many foods such as mushrooms, anchovies, and broccoli. As a flavor enhancer, it works synergistically with monosodium glutamate (MSG) to create the umami taste sensation. Dinátrium-guanilát is commonly used in instant noodles, potato chips, sauces, and other savory snacks. Although it is generally considered safe for consumption, some people may be sensitive to it and experience allergic reactions.

How to quickly find the source of ingredients like dinátrium-guanilát?

We've built a database of 49359 ingredients (and growing), classified as "vegan", "non-vegan", or "maybe vegan".

We use it in our vegan ingredients scanner, which is the best way to avoid non-vegan ingredients - you take a picture of a product's ingredient list, and the app tells you if the product is vegan or not.

scan ingredient listvegan ingredient checkervegan shopping made simple
Get on Google PlayGet on App Store
Stay in the loop about new WhatsVegan goodies!
We'll never send you spam.
Do you have any feedback? Drop us a line at [email protected] 🙌
The content on this website and the WhatsVegan application is not dietary advice, and it's intended for informational and educational purposes only.Terms of ServicePrivacy policy