what is vegan

Is distearyl thiodipropionate vegan?

Distearyl thiodipropionate is potentially vegan - it can be derived from plants or animals. You should ask the manufacturer for more details.

Checking out an ingredients list? ๐Ÿ‘‡

Vegan Ingredient Checker
Scan labels, check if ingredients are vegan
Get on Google PlayGet on App Store

Learn more

"You are amazing, this has saved me so much time when grocery shopping!"

โ€” Austin, a user who reached out with feedback

"It's been a great tool since starting my journey! You take a pic of the nutrition/ingredients, and it'll warn you of anything questionable or not vegan. ๐Ÿ˜"

โ€” Ashe, a Vegan For Beginners Facebook Group member

"Use a vegan app when you go shopping, I use WhatsVegan."

โ€” Dรณra, a Vegan For Beginners Facebook Group member

So, what is distearyl thiodipropionate?

Distearyl thiodipropionate is a white to slightly yellow, waxy solid that is commonly used as a stabilizer and antioxidant in various food products. It is an ester formed from the reaction of thiodipropionic acid with stearyl alcohol, a fatty alcohol derived from coconut or palm kernel oil. Due to its chemical properties, distearyl thiodipropionate can help prevent the oxidation of fats and oils in food, extending their shelf life and maintaining their quality. It is also approved for use in personal care and cosmetic products, as well as in plastics and rubber manufacturing.

How to quickly find the source of ingredients like distearyl thiodipropionate?

We've built a database of 49359 ingredients (and growing), classified as "vegan", "non-vegan", or "maybe vegan".

We use it in our vegan ingredients scanner, which is the best way to avoid non-vegan ingredients - you take a picture of a product's ingredient list, and the app tells you if the product is vegan or not.

scan ingredient listvegan ingredient checkervegan shopping made simple
Get on Google PlayGet on App Store
Stay in the loop about new WhatsVegan goodies!
We'll never send you spam.
Do you have any feedback? Drop us a line at [email protected] ๐Ÿ™Œ
The content on this website and the WhatsVegan application is not dietary advice, and it's intended for informational and educational purposes only.Terms of ServicePrivacy policy