what is vegan

Is distilled white vinegar vegan?

Distilled white vinegar is a vegan food ingredient.

Checking out an ingredients list? πŸ‘‡

Vegan Ingredient Checker
Scan labels, check if ingredients are vegan
Get on Google PlayGet on App Store

Learn more

"You are amazing, this has saved me so much time when grocery shopping!"

β€” Austin, a user who reached out with feedback

"It's been a great tool since starting my journey! You take a pic of the nutrition/ingredients, and it'll warn you of anything questionable or not vegan. 😁"

β€” Ashe, a Vegan For Beginners Facebook Group member

"Use a vegan app when you go shopping, I use WhatsVegan."

β€” DΓ³ra, a Vegan For Beginners Facebook Group member

So, what is distilled white vinegar?

Distilled white vinegar is a versatile cooking ingredient with a clear, sharp, and tangy taste that adds a burst of flavor to recipes. It is made from the fermentation of distilled alcohol, typically derived from grains such as corn, and then further fermented with acetic acid bacteria to produce a vinegar with a high acidity level. Its acidity makes it a natural preservative, often used for pickling fruits and vegetables, as well as for tenderizing meats and adding a tangy kick to dressings and sauces. Distilled white vinegar is also an effective household cleaner and can be used for everything from cleaning windows to removing stubborn stains.

How to quickly find the source of ingredients like distilled white vinegar?

We've built a database of 49359 ingredients (and growing), classified as "vegan", "non-vegan", or "maybe vegan".

We use it in our vegan ingredients scanner, which is the best way to avoid non-vegan ingredients - you take a picture of a product's ingredient list, and the app tells you if the product is vegan or not.

scan ingredient listvegan ingredient checkervegan shopping made simple
Get on Google PlayGet on App Store
Stay in the loop about new WhatsVegan goodies!
We'll never send you spam.
Do you have any feedback? Drop us a line at [email protected] πŸ™Œ
The content on this website and the WhatsVegan application is not dietary advice, and it's intended for informational and educational purposes only.Terms of ServicePrivacy policy