what is vegan

Is docosanoic acid vegan?

Docosanoic acid is potentially vegan - it can be derived from plants or animals. You should ask the manufacturer for more details.

Checking out an ingredients list? 👇

Vegan Ingredient Checker
Scan labels, check if ingredients are vegan
Get on Google PlayGet on App Store

Learn more

"You are amazing, this has saved me so much time when grocery shopping!"

— Austin, a user who reached out with feedback

"It's been a great tool since starting my journey! You take a pic of the nutrition/ingredients, and it'll warn you of anything questionable or not vegan. 😁"

— Ashe, a Vegan For Beginners Facebook Group member

"Use a vegan app when you go shopping, I use WhatsVegan."

— Dóra, a Vegan For Beginners Facebook Group member

So, what is docosanoic acid?

Docosanoic acid, also known as behenic acid, is a long-chain saturated fatty acid with 22 carbon atoms. It is commonly found in many natural sources, such as peanut oil, rapeseed oil, and cocoa butter. Docosanoic acid is used in various industries, including cosmetics, pharmaceuticals, and food. In the food industry, it is used as an emulsifier and thickening agent in products like ice cream, chewing gum, and margarine. Docosanoic acid is also used in hair and skin care products due to its conditioning properties. Despite its many uses, it is important to consume this fatty acid in moderation as excessive intake can lead to health problems.

How to quickly find the source of ingredients like docosanoic acid?

We've built a database of 49359 ingredients (and growing), classified as "vegan", "non-vegan", or "maybe vegan".

We use it in our vegan ingredients scanner, which is the best way to avoid non-vegan ingredients - you take a picture of a product's ingredient list, and the app tells you if the product is vegan or not.

scan ingredient listvegan ingredient checkervegan shopping made simple
Get on Google PlayGet on App Store
Stay in the loop about new WhatsVegan goodies!
We'll never send you spam.
Do you have any feedback? Drop us a line at [email protected] 🙌
The content on this website and the WhatsVegan application is not dietary advice, and it's intended for informational and educational purposes only.Terms of ServicePrivacy policy