what is vegan

Is e445 vegan?

E445, also known as glycerol ester of wood rosin (GEWR), is a food additive derived from the esterification of glycerol and rosin extracted from the stumps of pine trees. It is commonly used as an emulsifier, stabilizer, and thickener in beverages, such as citrus-flavored soft drinks and sports drinks, to prevent the separation of oil and water-based ingredients. GEWR is also used in some chewing gums to improve texture and increase elasticity. Although it is considered safe for consumption by regulatory authorities, some individuals may be sensitive to it and experience allergic reactions.

E445 is a vegan food ingredient.

Checking out an ingredients list? ūüĎá

Scan ingredients and find vegan products
You snap a pic, and we search for animal ingredients. Simple.
Check if a product is vegan in 7 seconds and avoid vegan traps.
Get on Google PlayGet on App Store

Learn more

How to quickly find the source of ingredients like e445?

We've built a database of 49359 ingredients (and growing), classified as "vegan", "non-vegan", or "maybe vegan".

We use it in our vegan ingredients scanner, which is the best way to avoid non-vegan ingredients - you take a picture of a product's ingredient list, and the app tells you if the product is vegan or not.

scan ingredient listvegan ingredient checkervegan shopping made simple
Get on Google PlayGet on App Store

Stay in the loop about new WhatsVegan goodies!
We'll never send you spam.

Do you have any feedback? Drop us a line at hello@whatsvegan.app ūüôĆ

The content on this website and the WhatsVegan application is not dietary advice, and it's intended for informational and educational purposes only.Terms of ServicePrivacy policy