what is vegan

Is e923 vegan?

E923 is a vegan food ingredient.

Checking out an ingredients list? 👇

Vegan Ingredient Checker
Scan labels, check if ingredients are vegan
Get on Google PlayGet on App Store

Learn more

"You are amazing, this has saved me so much time when grocery shopping!"

— Austin, a user who reached out with feedback

"It's been a great tool since starting my journey! You take a pic of the nutrition/ingredients, and it'll warn you of anything questionable or not vegan. 😁"

— Ashe, a Vegan For Beginners Facebook Group member

"Use a vegan app when you go shopping, I use WhatsVegan."

— Dóra, a Vegan For Beginners Facebook Group member

So, what is e923?

E923 is a food additive that is commonly known as Ammonium Hydrogen Carbonate or Baking Ammonia. It is a white, crystalline powder that is soluble in water and has a strong, ammonia-like smell. E923 is used in baking as a leavening agent to help dough rise, giving baked goods like cookies and crackers their characteristic texture. It is also used in the production of certain Chinese cuisine, such as steamed buns. However, it should be used with caution as it can cause skin and eye irritation, and prolonged exposure can lead to respiratory issues.

How to quickly find the source of ingredients like e923?

We've built a database of 49359 ingredients (and growing), classified as "vegan", "non-vegan", or "maybe vegan".

We use it in our vegan ingredients scanner, which is the best way to avoid non-vegan ingredients - you take a picture of a product's ingredient list, and the app tells you if the product is vegan or not.

scan ingredient listvegan ingredient checkervegan shopping made simple
Get on Google PlayGet on App Store
Stay in the loop about new WhatsVegan goodies!
We'll never send you spam.
Do you have any feedback? Drop us a line at [email protected] 🙌
The content on this website and the WhatsVegan application is not dietary advice, and it's intended for informational and educational purposes only.Terms of ServicePrivacy policy