what is vegan

Is en cultures de skyr vegan?

En cultures de skyr is potentially vegan - it can be derived from plants or animals. You should ask the manufacturer for more details.

Checking out an ingredients list? 👇

Vegan Ingredient Checker
Scan labels, check if ingredients are vegan
Get on Google PlayGet on App Store

Learn more

"You are amazing, this has saved me so much time when grocery shopping!"

— Austin, a user who reached out with feedback

"It's been a great tool since starting my journey! You take a pic of the nutrition/ingredients, and it'll warn you of anything questionable or not vegan. 😁"

— Ashe, a Vegan For Beginners Facebook Group member

"Use a vegan app when you go shopping, I use WhatsVegan."

— Dóra, a Vegan For Beginners Facebook Group member

So, what is en cultures de skyr?

En cultures de skyr is a French phrase that translates to "with skyr cultures." Skyr is a traditional Icelandic dairy product that has been enjoyed for centuries. It is made by straining yogurt to remove the liquid, resulting in a thick, creamy, and tangy spread that is high in protein and low in fat. Skyr cultures are live microorganisms that are added to milk to ferment and create skyr. Using en cultures de skyr in a recipe will add a distinctive tangy flavor and provide a healthy dose of probiotics that can improve digestion and boost the immune system.

How to quickly find the source of ingredients like en cultures de skyr?

We've built a database of 49359 ingredients (and growing), classified as "vegan", "non-vegan", or "maybe vegan".

We use it in our vegan ingredients scanner, which is the best way to avoid non-vegan ingredients - you take a picture of a product's ingredient list, and the app tells you if the product is vegan or not.

scan ingredient listvegan ingredient checkervegan shopping made simple
Get on Google PlayGet on App Store
Stay in the loop about new WhatsVegan goodies!
We'll never send you spam.
Do you have any feedback? Drop us a line at [email protected] 🙌
The content on this website and the WhatsVegan application is not dietary advice, and it's intended for informational and educational purposes only.Terms of ServicePrivacy policy