what is vegan

Is extrait de malt d´orge vegan?

Extrait de malt d´orge is a vegan food ingredient.

Checking out an ingredients list? 👇

Vegan Ingredient Checker
Scan labels, check if ingredients are vegan
Get on Google PlayGet on App Store

Learn more

"You are amazing, this has saved me so much time when grocery shopping!"

— Austin, a user who reached out with feedback

"It's been a great tool since starting my journey! You take a pic of the nutrition/ingredients, and it'll warn you of anything questionable or not vegan. 😁"

— Ashe, a Vegan For Beginners Facebook Group member

"Use a vegan app when you go shopping, I use WhatsVegan."

— Dóra, a Vegan For Beginners Facebook Group member

So, what is extrait de malt d´orge?

Extrait de malt d'orge, or barley malt extract, is a concentrated sweet syrup made from sprouted barley grains that have been dried and then ground into a fine powder. This extract is produced by steeping the barley in water and then allowing it to germinate, which activates enzymes that break down the grain's starch into simple sugars. The resulting liquid is then evaporated to create a thick syrup that is high in maltose and other complex sugars, making it a popular ingredient in baked goods, candies, and beverages. With its rich, nutty flavor and natural sweetness, barley malt extract is a versatile ingredient that adds depth and complexity to any recipe.

How to quickly find the source of ingredients like extrait de malt d´orge?

We've built a database of 49359 ingredients (and growing), classified as "vegan", "non-vegan", or "maybe vegan".

We use it in our vegan ingredients scanner, which is the best way to avoid non-vegan ingredients - you take a picture of a product's ingredient list, and the app tells you if the product is vegan or not.

scan ingredient listvegan ingredient checkervegan shopping made simple
Get on Google PlayGet on App Store
Stay in the loop about new WhatsVegan goodies!
We'll never send you spam.
Do you have any feedback? Drop us a line at [email protected] 🙌
The content on this website and the WhatsVegan application is not dietary advice, and it's intended for informational and educational purposes only.Terms of ServicePrivacy policy