what is vegan

Is extrait de poule vegan?

Extrait de poule is a non-vegan food ingredient.

Checking out an ingredients list? 👇

Vegan Ingredient Checker
Scan labels, check if ingredients are vegan
Get on Google PlayGet on App Store

Learn more

"You are amazing, this has saved me so much time when grocery shopping!"

— Austin, a user who reached out with feedback

"It's been a great tool since starting my journey! You take a pic of the nutrition/ingredients, and it'll warn you of anything questionable or not vegan. 😁"

— Ashe, a Vegan For Beginners Facebook Group member

"Use a vegan app when you go shopping, I use WhatsVegan."

— Dóra, a Vegan For Beginners Facebook Group member

So, what is extrait de poule?

Extrait de poule, also known as chicken extract, is a highly concentrated liquid made by simmering chicken bones, meat, and skin for an extended period of time. This process extracts the rich flavors, aromas, and nutrients from the chicken, resulting in a savory and versatile ingredient that can be used to enhance the taste of soups, stews, gravies, sauces, and marinades. It is also a popular ingredient in Asian cuisine, where it is often used to add depth and complexity to dishes like noodle soups and stir-fries. With its intense umami flavor and nutritional benefits, extrait de poule is a must-have ingredient for any home cook or professional chef.

How to quickly find the source of ingredients like extrait de poule?

We've built a database of 49359 ingredients (and growing), classified as "vegan", "non-vegan", or "maybe vegan".

We use it in our vegan ingredients scanner, which is the best way to avoid non-vegan ingredients - you take a picture of a product's ingredient list, and the app tells you if the product is vegan or not.

scan ingredient listvegan ingredient checkervegan shopping made simple
Get on Google PlayGet on App Store
Stay in the loop about new WhatsVegan goodies!
We'll never send you spam.
Do you have any feedback? Drop us a line at [email protected] 🙌
The content on this website and the WhatsVegan application is not dietary advice, and it's intended for informational and educational purposes only.Terms of ServicePrivacy policy