what is vegan

Is ferments lactiques et d affinage vegan?

Ferments lactiques et d affinage is potentially vegan - it can be derived from plants or animals. You should ask the manufacturer for more details.

Checking out an ingredients list? 👇

Vegan Ingredient Checker
Scan labels, check if ingredients are vegan
Get on Google PlayGet on App Store

Learn more

"You are amazing, this has saved me so much time when grocery shopping!"

— Austin, a user who reached out with feedback

"It's been a great tool since starting my journey! You take a pic of the nutrition/ingredients, and it'll warn you of anything questionable or not vegan. 😁"

— Ashe, a Vegan For Beginners Facebook Group member

"Use a vegan app when you go shopping, I use WhatsVegan."

— Dóra, a Vegan For Beginners Facebook Group member

So, what is ferments lactiques et d affinage?

"Ferments lactiques et d'affinage" is a French term that translates to "lactic and ripening cultures." These cultures are used in the production of cheese and other dairy products to enhance their flavor, texture, and shelf life. Lactic cultures convert lactose into lactic acid, which gives cheese its tangy flavor and helps it to ripen. Ripening cultures, on the other hand, produce enzymes that break down proteins and fats, creating complex flavor compounds and softening the texture of the cheese. Ferments lactiques et d'affinage are essential for creating the unique and delicious flavors of many types of cheese, from mild and creamy to sharp and pungent.

How to quickly find the source of ingredients like ferments lactiques et d affinage?

We've built a database of 49359 ingredients (and growing), classified as "vegan", "non-vegan", or "maybe vegan".

We use it in our vegan ingredients scanner, which is the best way to avoid non-vegan ingredients - you take a picture of a product's ingredient list, and the app tells you if the product is vegan or not.

scan ingredient listvegan ingredient checkervegan shopping made simple
Get on Google PlayGet on App Store
Stay in the loop about new WhatsVegan goodies!
We'll never send you spam.
Do you have any feedback? Drop us a line at [email protected] 🙌
The content on this website and the WhatsVegan application is not dietary advice, and it's intended for informational and educational purposes only.Terms of ServicePrivacy policy