what is vegan

Is foie gras d'oie vegan?

Foie gras d'oie is a non-vegan food ingredient.

Checking out an ingredients list? 👇

Vegan Ingredient Checker
Scan labels, check if ingredients are vegan
Get on Google PlayGet on App Store

Learn more

"You are amazing, this has saved me so much time when grocery shopping!"

— Austin, a user who reached out with feedback

"It's been a great tool since starting my journey! You take a pic of the nutrition/ingredients, and it'll warn you of anything questionable or not vegan. 😁"

— Ashe, a Vegan For Beginners Facebook Group member

"Use a vegan app when you go shopping, I use WhatsVegan."

— Dóra, a Vegan For Beginners Facebook Group member

So, what is foie gras d'oie?

Foie gras d'oie is a luxurious and decadent ingredient that originates from the liver of a fattened goose. This French delicacy has a rich, buttery texture with a delicate, earthy flavor that melts in your mouth. The process of creating foie gras d'oie involves force-feeding geese with a specially formulated diet, which leads to an enlarged liver that is prized for its unique taste and texture. This highly coveted ingredient is a staple in French cuisine and can be enjoyed in various dishes, such as terrines, pùtés, and seared foie gras. Its distinct flavor and texture make it a sought-after ingredient by chefs and food lovers worldwide.

How to quickly find the source of ingredients like foie gras d'oie?

We've built a database of 49359 ingredients (and growing), classified as "vegan", "non-vegan", or "maybe vegan".

We use it in our vegan ingredients scanner, which is the best way to avoid non-vegan ingredients - you take a picture of a product's ingredient list, and the app tells you if the product is vegan or not.

scan ingredient listvegan ingredient checkervegan shopping made simple
Get on Google PlayGet on App Store
Stay in the loop about new WhatsVegan goodies!
We'll never send you spam.
Do you have any feedback? Drop us a line at [email protected] 🙌
The content on this website and the WhatsVegan application is not dietary advice, and it's intended for informational and educational purposes only.Terms of ServicePrivacy policy