what is vegan

Is gefilte fish vegan?

Gefilte fish is a traditional Jewish dish made from ground, deboned fish mixed with various seasonings and vegetables such as onions, carrots, and celery. The mixture is then formed into oval-shaped balls or patties and boiled in fish stock until fully cooked. This dish is typically served cold and often accompanied by horseradish, beets, or carrots. With its delicate flavor and soft texture, gefilte fish is a classic staple of Jewish cuisine that has been enjoyed for generations, and continues to be an integral part of many Jewish holiday meals and celebrations.

Gefilte fish is a non-vegan food ingredient.

Checking out an ingredients list? 👇

Scan ingredients and find vegan products
You snap a pic, and we search for animal ingredients. Simple.
Check if a product is vegan in 7 seconds and avoid vegan traps.
Get on Google PlayGet on App Store

Learn more

How to quickly find the source of ingredients like gefilte fish?

We've built a database of 49359 ingredients (and growing), classified as "vegan", "non-vegan", or "maybe vegan".

We use it in our vegan ingredients scanner, which is the best way to avoid non-vegan ingredients - you take a picture of a product's ingredient list, and the app tells you if the product is vegan or not.

scan ingredient listvegan ingredient checkervegan shopping made simple
Get on Google PlayGet on App Store

Stay in the loop about new WhatsVegan goodies!
We'll never send you spam.

Do you have any feedback? Drop us a line at hello@whatsvegan.app 🙌

The content on this website and the WhatsVegan application is not dietary advice, and it's intended for informational and educational purposes only.Terms of ServicePrivacy policy