what is vegan

Is gehydrolyseerd plantaardig eiwit vegan?

Gehydrolyseerd plantaardig eiwit is a vegan food ingredient.

Checking out an ingredients list? 👇

Vegan Ingredient Checker
Scan labels, check if ingredients are vegan
Get on Google PlayGet on App Store

Learn more

"You are amazing, this has saved me so much time when grocery shopping!"

— Austin, a user who reached out with feedback

"It's been a great tool since starting my journey! You take a pic of the nutrition/ingredients, and it'll warn you of anything questionable or not vegan. 😁"

— Ashe, a Vegan For Beginners Facebook Group member

"Use a vegan app when you go shopping, I use WhatsVegan."

— Dóra, a Vegan For Beginners Facebook Group member

So, what is gehydrolyseerd plantaardig eiwit?

Gehydrolyseerd plantaardig eiwit, also known as hydrolyzed vegetable protein (HVP), is a food ingredient derived from various plant sources. It is a flavor enhancer commonly used in processed foods, such as soups, sauces, and snacks, to impart a savory or umami taste. The process of hydrolysis breaks down the proteins into smaller peptides, resulting in a concentrated source of free amino acids, which contribute to the unique taste and aroma of the final product. Gehydrolyseerd plantaardig eiwit is often used as a substitute for monosodium glutamate (MSG) due to its similar flavor-enhancing properties.

How to quickly find the source of ingredients like gehydrolyseerd plantaardig eiwit?

We've built a database of 49359 ingredients (and growing), classified as "vegan", "non-vegan", or "maybe vegan".

We use it in our vegan ingredients scanner, which is the best way to avoid non-vegan ingredients - you take a picture of a product's ingredient list, and the app tells you if the product is vegan or not.

scan ingredient listvegan ingredient checkervegan shopping made simple
Get on Google PlayGet on App Store
Stay in the loop about new WhatsVegan goodies!
We'll never send you spam.
Do you have any feedback? Drop us a line at [email protected] 🙌
The content on this website and the WhatsVegan application is not dietary advice, and it's intended for informational and educational purposes only.Terms of ServicePrivacy policy