what is vegan

Is gellan gum vegan?

Gellan gum is a vegan food ingredient.

Checking out an ingredients list? πŸ‘‡

Vegan Ingredient Checker
Scan labels, check if ingredients are vegan
Get on Google PlayGet on App Store

Learn more

"You are amazing, this has saved me so much time when grocery shopping!"

β€” Austin, a user who reached out with feedback

"It's been a great tool since starting my journey! You take a pic of the nutrition/ingredients, and it'll warn you of anything questionable or not vegan. 😁"

β€” Ashe, a Vegan For Beginners Facebook Group member

"Use a vegan app when you go shopping, I use WhatsVegan."

β€” DΓ³ra, a Vegan For Beginners Facebook Group member

So, what is gellan gum?

Gellan gum is a natural, high molecular weight polysaccharide that is commonly used as a thickening, stabilizing, and gelling agent in the food industry. It is produced through a fermentation process using the bacterium Sphingomonas elodea, and has a unique molecular structure that allows it to form strong, elastic gels even at very low concentrations. Gellan gum is a popular ingredient in vegan and vegetarian food products, as it can be used to replace animal-derived gelling agents such as gelatin. It is also used in a wide range of other food products, including dairy, beverages, and confectionery, due to its versatility and excellent functionality.

How to quickly find the source of ingredients like gellan gum?

We've built a database of 49359 ingredients (and growing), classified as "vegan", "non-vegan", or "maybe vegan".

We use it in our vegan ingredients scanner, which is the best way to avoid non-vegan ingredients - you take a picture of a product's ingredient list, and the app tells you if the product is vegan or not.

scan ingredient listvegan ingredient checkervegan shopping made simple
Get on Google PlayGet on App Store
Stay in the loop about new WhatsVegan goodies!
We'll never send you spam.
Do you have any feedback? Drop us a line at [email protected] πŸ™Œ
The content on this website and the WhatsVegan application is not dietary advice, and it's intended for informational and educational purposes only.Terms of ServicePrivacy policy