what is vegan

Is gemodificeerd maiszetmeel vegan?

Gemodificeerd maiszetmeel is a vegan food ingredient.

Checking out an ingredients list? 👇

Vegan Ingredient Checker
Scan labels, check if ingredients are vegan
Get on Google PlayGet on App Store

Learn more

"You are amazing, this has saved me so much time when grocery shopping!"

— Austin, a user who reached out with feedback

"It's been a great tool since starting my journey! You take a pic of the nutrition/ingredients, and it'll warn you of anything questionable or not vegan. 😁"

— Ashe, a Vegan For Beginners Facebook Group member

"Use a vegan app when you go shopping, I use WhatsVegan."

— Dóra, a Vegan For Beginners Facebook Group member

So, what is gemodificeerd maiszetmeel?

Gemodificeerd maiszetmeel, or modified corn starch, is a common food ingredient that is derived from corn. The starch is processed to improve its properties such as stability, texture, and thickening ability. It is often used as a thickener, binder, and stabilizer in a variety of food products, including soups, sauces, baked goods, and processed meats. Modified corn starch is preferred by food manufacturers because it is versatile, cost-effective, and has a longer shelf life. It is also gluten-free and can be used as a substitute for wheat flour in gluten-free products. However, some people may have sensitivities or allergies to corn and should be cautious when consuming products that contain modified corn starch.

How to quickly find the source of ingredients like gemodificeerd maiszetmeel?

We've built a database of 49359 ingredients (and growing), classified as "vegan", "non-vegan", or "maybe vegan".

We use it in our vegan ingredients scanner, which is the best way to avoid non-vegan ingredients - you take a picture of a product's ingredient list, and the app tells you if the product is vegan or not.

scan ingredient listvegan ingredient checkervegan shopping made simple
Get on Google PlayGet on App Store
Stay in the loop about new WhatsVegan goodies!
We'll never send you spam.
Do you have any feedback? Drop us a line at [email protected] 🙌
The content on this website and the WhatsVegan application is not dietary advice, and it's intended for informational and educational purposes only.Terms of ServicePrivacy policy