what is vegan

Is gerstemeel vegan?

Gerstemeel is a vegan food ingredient.

Checking out an ingredients list? 👇

Vegan Ingredient Checker
Scan labels, check if ingredients are vegan
Get on Google PlayGet on App Store

Learn more

"You are amazing, this has saved me so much time when grocery shopping!"

— Austin, a user who reached out with feedback

"It's been a great tool since starting my journey! You take a pic of the nutrition/ingredients, and it'll warn you of anything questionable or not vegan. 😁"

— Ashe, a Vegan For Beginners Facebook Group member

"Use a vegan app when you go shopping, I use WhatsVegan."

— Dóra, a Vegan For Beginners Facebook Group member

So, what is gerstemeel?

Gerstemeel, also known as barley flour, is a versatile and nutritious ingredient that has been used in traditional cuisines for centuries. This finely ground flour is made from whole barley grains and has a slightly nutty flavor with a hint of sweetness. It contains high levels of fiber, protein, and essential minerals like manganese and selenium. Gerstemeel can be used to make a variety of baked goods, such as bread, muffins, and crackers. It's also a great thickener for soups and stews or can be added to smoothies for an extra nutritional boost. With its unique taste and health benefits, gerstemeel is definitely worth incorporating into your cooking repertoire.

How to quickly find the source of ingredients like gerstemeel?

We've built a database of 49359 ingredients (and growing), classified as "vegan", "non-vegan", or "maybe vegan".

We use it in our vegan ingredients scanner, which is the best way to avoid non-vegan ingredients - you take a picture of a product's ingredient list, and the app tells you if the product is vegan or not.

scan ingredient listvegan ingredient checkervegan shopping made simple
Get on Google PlayGet on App Store
Stay in the loop about new WhatsVegan goodies!
We'll never send you spam.
Do you have any feedback? Drop us a line at [email protected] 🙌
The content on this website and the WhatsVegan application is not dietary advice, and it's intended for informational and educational purposes only.Terms of ServicePrivacy policy