what is vegan

Is glutamato de monosodio vegan?

Glutamato de monosodio is a vegan food ingredient.

Checking out an ingredients list? ­čĹç

Vegan Ingredient Checker
Scan labels, check if ingredients are vegan
Get on Google PlayGet on App Store

Learn more

"You are amazing, this has saved me so much time when grocery shopping!"

ÔÇö Austin, a user who reached out with feedback

"It's been a great tool since starting my journey! You take a pic of the nutrition/ingredients, and it'll warn you of anything questionable or not vegan. ­čśü"

ÔÇö Ashe, a Vegan For Beginners Facebook Group member

"Use a vegan app when you go shopping, I use WhatsVegan."

ÔÇö D├│ra, a Vegan For Beginners Facebook Group member

So, what is glutamato de monosodio?

Glutamato de monosodio, also known as MSG, is a widely used food additive that enhances the umami taste of savory dishes. It is a white, crystalline powder that is made by fermenting starches, sugars, and molasses. MSG is a type of glutamic acid, a naturally occurring amino acid that is found in many foods such as tomatoes, mushrooms, and Parmesan cheese. When added to food, it provides a savory flavor that is often described as meaty or brothy. Despite some concerns about its safety, MSG is generally recognized as safe by regulatory agencies around the world and is commonly used in processed foods, snacks, and restaurant dishes.

How to quickly find the source of ingredients like glutamato de monosodio?

We've built a database of 49359 ingredients (and growing), classified as "vegan", "non-vegan", or "maybe vegan".

We use it in our vegan ingredients scanner, which is the best way to avoid non-vegan ingredients - you take a picture of a product's ingredient list, and the app tells you if the product is vegan or not.

scan ingredient listvegan ingredient checkervegan shopping made simple
Get on Google PlayGet on App Store
Stay in the loop about new WhatsVegan goodies!
We'll never send you spam.
Do you have any feedback? Drop us a line at [email protected] ­čÖî
The content on this website and the WhatsVegan application is not dietary advice, and it's intended for informational and educational purposes only.Terms of ServicePrivacy policy