what is vegan

Is glutamato de sodio vegan?

Glutamato de sodio is a vegan food ingredient.

Checking out an ingredients list? 👇

Vegan Ingredient Checker
Scan labels, check if ingredients are vegan
Get on Google PlayGet on App Store

Learn more

"You are amazing, this has saved me so much time when grocery shopping!"

— Austin, a user who reached out with feedback

"It's been a great tool since starting my journey! You take a pic of the nutrition/ingredients, and it'll warn you of anything questionable or not vegan. 😁"

— Ashe, a Vegan For Beginners Facebook Group member

"Use a vegan app when you go shopping, I use WhatsVegan."

— Dóra, a Vegan For Beginners Facebook Group member

So, what is glutamato de sodio?

Glutamato de sodio, también conocido como MSG, es un potenciador del sabor utilizado en muchos alimentos procesados. Se presenta como un polvo blanco cristalino que es soluble en agua y tiene un sabor umami intenso. El glutamato de sodio se produce a partir del ácido glutámico, un aminoácido presente en muchos alimentos naturales como tomates, queso parmesano, algas y champiñones. Es utilizado en la industria alimentaria para mejorar el sabor de los alimentos y reducir la cantidad de sal que se utiliza. A pesar de algunas controversias en torno a su seguridad, el glutamato de sodio es considerado seguro por la mayoría de los organismos reguladores de todo el mundo.

How to quickly find the source of ingredients like glutamato de sodio?

We've built a database of 49359 ingredients (and growing), classified as "vegan", "non-vegan", or "maybe vegan".

We use it in our vegan ingredients scanner, which is the best way to avoid non-vegan ingredients - you take a picture of a product's ingredient list, and the app tells you if the product is vegan or not.

scan ingredient listvegan ingredient checkervegan shopping made simple
Get on Google PlayGet on App Store
Stay in the loop about new WhatsVegan goodies!
We'll never send you spam.
Do you have any feedback? Drop us a line at [email protected] 🙌
The content on this website and the WhatsVegan application is not dietary advice, and it's intended for informational and educational purposes only.Terms of ServicePrivacy policy