what is vegan

Is gomme arabique vegan?

Gomme arabique is a vegan food ingredient.

Checking out an ingredients list? 👇

Vegan Ingredient Checker
Scan labels, check if ingredients are vegan
Get on Google PlayGet on App Store

Learn more

"You are amazing, this has saved me so much time when grocery shopping!"

— Austin, a user who reached out with feedback

"It's been a great tool since starting my journey! You take a pic of the nutrition/ingredients, and it'll warn you of anything questionable or not vegan. 😁"

— Ashe, a Vegan For Beginners Facebook Group member

"Use a vegan app when you go shopping, I use WhatsVegan."

— Dóra, a Vegan For Beginners Facebook Group member

So, what is gomme arabique?

Gomme arabique, also known as acacia gum, is a natural plant-based ingredient that is derived from the sap of the acacia tree. This ingredient has been used in various food products for centuries due to its unique properties, which include thickening and stabilizing capabilities. Gomme arabique is commonly used in confectionery products like candies, gum, and marshmallows, as well as in beverage products like soda and juice. This ingredient is also used in the pharmaceutical and cosmetics industries due to its adhesive and emulsifying properties. Gomme arabique is a versatile and natural ingredient that adds functional benefits to many products.

How to quickly find the source of ingredients like gomme arabique?

We've built a database of 49359 ingredients (and growing), classified as "vegan", "non-vegan", or "maybe vegan".

We use it in our vegan ingredients scanner, which is the best way to avoid non-vegan ingredients - you take a picture of a product's ingredient list, and the app tells you if the product is vegan or not.

scan ingredient listvegan ingredient checkervegan shopping made simple
Get on Google PlayGet on App Store
Stay in the loop about new WhatsVegan goodies!
We'll never send you spam.
Do you have any feedback? Drop us a line at [email protected] 🙌
The content on this website and the WhatsVegan application is not dietary advice, and it's intended for informational and educational purposes only.Terms of ServicePrivacy policy