what is vegan

Is gooseberry vegan?

Gooseberry is a vegan food ingredient.

Checking out an ingredients list? 👇

Vegan Ingredient Checker
Scan labels, check if ingredients are vegan
Get on Google PlayGet on App Store

Learn more

"You are amazing, this has saved me so much time when grocery shopping!"

— Austin, a user who reached out with feedback

"It's been a great tool since starting my journey! You take a pic of the nutrition/ingredients, and it'll warn you of anything questionable or not vegan. 😁"

— Ashe, a Vegan For Beginners Facebook Group member

"Use a vegan app when you go shopping, I use WhatsVegan."

— Dóra, a Vegan For Beginners Facebook Group member

So, what is gooseberry?

Gooseberries are small, round, and tart fruit that belong to the Ribes family. They are typically green, but can also be yellow, red, or purple. With a flavor that's sour and slightly sweet, gooseberries are often used in jams, jellies, pies, and other baked goods. These versatile berries are rich in vitamin C and other beneficial nutrients, and they are known for their antioxidant and anti-inflammatory properties. Gooseberries are also used in traditional medicine to help treat a range of health conditions. They are a popular ingredient in Scandinavian and British cuisine, and they are enjoyed around the world for their unique flavor and health benefits.

How to quickly find the source of ingredients like gooseberry?

We've built a database of 49359 ingredients (and growing), classified as "vegan", "non-vegan", or "maybe vegan".

We use it in our vegan ingredients scanner, which is the best way to avoid non-vegan ingredients - you take a picture of a product's ingredient list, and the app tells you if the product is vegan or not.

scan ingredient listvegan ingredient checkervegan shopping made simple
Get on Google PlayGet on App Store
Stay in the loop about new WhatsVegan goodies!
We'll never send you spam.
Do you have any feedback? Drop us a line at [email protected] 🙌
The content on this website and the WhatsVegan application is not dietary advice, and it's intended for informational and educational purposes only.Terms of ServicePrivacy policy