what is vegan

Is gouda vegan?

Gouda is a non-vegan food ingredient.

Checking out an ingredients list? 👇

Vegan Ingredient Checker
Scan labels, check if ingredients are vegan
Get on Google PlayGet on App Store

Learn more

"You are amazing, this has saved me so much time when grocery shopping!"

— Austin, a user who reached out with feedback

"It's been a great tool since starting my journey! You take a pic of the nutrition/ingredients, and it'll warn you of anything questionable or not vegan. 😁"

— Ashe, a Vegan For Beginners Facebook Group member

"Use a vegan app when you go shopping, I use WhatsVegan."

— Dóra, a Vegan For Beginners Facebook Group member

So, what is gouda?

Gouda is a semi-hard cheese originating from the Netherlands. Made from cow's milk, it is rich in flavor with a smooth and creamy texture. The cheese has a yellowish hue and is known for its distinctive nutty taste. Gouda is typically aged for several months, resulting in a firmer texture and sharper taste, while younger gouda is milder and more buttery. It can be enjoyed on its own as a snack, used as a melting cheese in dishes like grilled cheese sandwiches or mac and cheese, or paired with wine or beer for an indulgent treat.

How to quickly find the source of ingredients like gouda?

We've built a database of 49359 ingredients (and growing), classified as "vegan", "non-vegan", or "maybe vegan".

We use it in our vegan ingredients scanner, which is the best way to avoid non-vegan ingredients - you take a picture of a product's ingredient list, and the app tells you if the product is vegan or not.

scan ingredient listvegan ingredient checkervegan shopping made simple
Get on Google PlayGet on App Store
Stay in the loop about new WhatsVegan goodies!
We'll never send you spam.
Do you have any feedback? Drop us a line at [email protected] 🙌
The content on this website and the WhatsVegan application is not dietary advice, and it's intended for informational and educational purposes only.Terms of ServicePrivacy policy