what is vegan

Is graisse de vegan?

Graisse de is potentially vegan - it can be derived from plants or animals. You should ask the manufacturer for more details.

Checking out an ingredients list? 👇

Vegan Ingredient Checker
Scan labels, check if ingredients are vegan
Get on Google PlayGet on App Store

Learn more

"You are amazing, this has saved me so much time when grocery shopping!"

— Austin, a user who reached out with feedback

"It's been a great tool since starting my journey! You take a pic of the nutrition/ingredients, and it'll warn you of anything questionable or not vegan. 😁"

— Ashe, a Vegan For Beginners Facebook Group member

"Use a vegan app when you go shopping, I use WhatsVegan."

— Dóra, a Vegan For Beginners Facebook Group member

So, what is graisse de?

Graisse de is a French term that translates to "fat of." It refers to various types of animal fats used in cooking, such as pork fat (graisse de porc), duck fat (graisse de canard), and beef fat (graisse de boeuf). These fats are prized by chefs for their rich flavor and ability to enhance the taste of foods. Graisse de is often used to sauté vegetables, fry meats, and add flavor to sauces and gravies. While some people may shy away from cooking with animal fats, graisse de is a traditional ingredient that has been used for centuries and continues to be a staple in many cuisines around the world.

How to quickly find the source of ingredients like graisse de?

We've built a database of 49359 ingredients (and growing), classified as "vegan", "non-vegan", or "maybe vegan".

We use it in our vegan ingredients scanner, which is the best way to avoid non-vegan ingredients - you take a picture of a product's ingredient list, and the app tells you if the product is vegan or not.

scan ingredient listvegan ingredient checkervegan shopping made simple
Get on Google PlayGet on App Store
Stay in the loop about new WhatsVegan goodies!
We'll never send you spam.
Do you have any feedback? Drop us a line at [email protected] 🙌
The content on this website and the WhatsVegan application is not dietary advice, and it's intended for informational and educational purposes only.Terms of ServicePrivacy policy