what is vegan

Is gumă arabică vegan?

Gumă arabică is a vegan food ingredient.

Checking out an ingredients list? 👇

Vegan Ingredient Checker
Scan labels, check if ingredients are vegan
Get on Google PlayGet on App Store

Learn more

"You are amazing, this has saved me so much time when grocery shopping!"

— Austin, a user who reached out with feedback

"It's been a great tool since starting my journey! You take a pic of the nutrition/ingredients, and it'll warn you of anything questionable or not vegan. 😁"

— Ashe, a Vegan For Beginners Facebook Group member

"Use a vegan app when you go shopping, I use WhatsVegan."

— Dóra, a Vegan For Beginners Facebook Group member

So, what is gumă arabică?

Gum arabic, also known as acacia gum or E414 in the EU, is a natural plant-derived ingredient used extensively in the food industry. It is harvested from Acacia trees and has a range of applications, including as an emulsifier, stabilizer, and thickening agent. Gum Arabic is famous for its ability to dissolve easily in water and form a clear solution, making it ideal for use in beverages and confectionery products. It is also used in the production of printing ink, cosmetics, and pharmaceuticals. Gum Arabic is a versatile ingredient that can improve the texture, mouthfeel, and shelf life of food products, all while being a natural alternative to synthetic additives.

How to quickly find the source of ingredients like gumă arabică?

We've built a database of 49359 ingredients (and growing), classified as "vegan", "non-vegan", or "maybe vegan".

We use it in our vegan ingredients scanner, which is the best way to avoid non-vegan ingredients - you take a picture of a product's ingredient list, and the app tells you if the product is vegan or not.

scan ingredient listvegan ingredient checkervegan shopping made simple
Get on Google PlayGet on App Store
Stay in the loop about new WhatsVegan goodies!
We'll never send you spam.
Do you have any feedback? Drop us a line at [email protected] 🙌
The content on this website and the WhatsVegan application is not dietary advice, and it's intended for informational and educational purposes only.Terms of ServicePrivacy policy