what is vegan

Is harina de castaña vegan?

Harina de castaña is a vegan food ingredient.

Checking out an ingredients list? 👇

Vegan Ingredient Checker
Scan labels, check if ingredients are vegan
Get on Google PlayGet on App Store

Learn more

"You are amazing, this has saved me so much time when grocery shopping!"

— Austin, a user who reached out with feedback

"It's been a great tool since starting my journey! You take a pic of the nutrition/ingredients, and it'll warn you of anything questionable or not vegan. 😁"

— Ashe, a Vegan For Beginners Facebook Group member

"Use a vegan app when you go shopping, I use WhatsVegan."

— Dóra, a Vegan For Beginners Facebook Group member

So, what is harina de castaña?

Harina de castaña, or chestnut flour, is a gluten-free and grain-free flour made from dried and ground chestnuts. With a slightly sweet and nutty flavor, it adds a unique taste to baked goods, pasta, and bread. Chestnut flour is a popular ingredient in traditional Italian and French cuisine, especially in the autumn months when chestnuts are in season. It's also rich in fiber, vitamins, and minerals, making it a healthy alternative to traditional wheat flour. Additionally, it's versatile and can be used in both savory and sweet dishes, making it a pantry staple for anyone looking to experiment with new flavors and textures in their cooking.

How to quickly find the source of ingredients like harina de castaña?

We've built a database of 49359 ingredients (and growing), classified as "vegan", "non-vegan", or "maybe vegan".

We use it in our vegan ingredients scanner, which is the best way to avoid non-vegan ingredients - you take a picture of a product's ingredient list, and the app tells you if the product is vegan or not.

scan ingredient listvegan ingredient checkervegan shopping made simple
Get on Google PlayGet on App Store
Stay in the loop about new WhatsVegan goodies!
We'll never send you spam.
Do you have any feedback? Drop us a line at [email protected] 🙌
The content on this website and the WhatsVegan application is not dietary advice, and it's intended for informational and educational purposes only.Terms of ServicePrivacy policy