what is vegan

Is harina de malta de cebada vegan?

Harina de malta de cebada is a vegan food ingredient.

Checking out an ingredients list? 👇

Vegan Ingredient Checker
Scan labels, check if ingredients are vegan
Get on Google PlayGet on App Store

Learn more

"You are amazing, this has saved me so much time when grocery shopping!"

— Austin, a user who reached out with feedback

"It's been a great tool since starting my journey! You take a pic of the nutrition/ingredients, and it'll warn you of anything questionable or not vegan. 😁"

— Ashe, a Vegan For Beginners Facebook Group member

"Use a vegan app when you go shopping, I use WhatsVegan."

— Dóra, a Vegan For Beginners Facebook Group member

So, what is harina de malta de cebada?

Harina de malta de cebada, also known as barley malt flour, is a versatile ingredient that is derived from sprouted barley grains. This flour is made by grinding the sprouted grains into a fine powder, which is then dried and roasted to develop its characteristic nutty flavor and aroma. With its high enzymatic activity, this flour is an excellent natural sweetener that is often used in baking to enhance the flavor, texture, and color of bread, cakes, and pastries. It is also commonly used in brewing as a source of fermentable sugars, adding complexity and depth to beer and other fermented beverages.

How to quickly find the source of ingredients like harina de malta de cebada?

We've built a database of 49359 ingredients (and growing), classified as "vegan", "non-vegan", or "maybe vegan".

We use it in our vegan ingredients scanner, which is the best way to avoid non-vegan ingredients - you take a picture of a product's ingredient list, and the app tells you if the product is vegan or not.

scan ingredient listvegan ingredient checkervegan shopping made simple
Get on Google PlayGet on App Store
Stay in the loop about new WhatsVegan goodies!
We'll never send you spam.
Do you have any feedback? Drop us a line at [email protected] 🙌
The content on this website and the WhatsVegan application is not dietary advice, and it's intended for informational and educational purposes only.Terms of ServicePrivacy policy