what is vegan

Is hydrogenated animal glyceride vegan?

Hydrogenated animal glyceride is a non-vegan food ingredient.

Checking out an ingredients list? πŸ‘‡

Vegan Ingredient Checker
Scan labels, check if ingredients are vegan
Get on Google PlayGet on App Store

Learn more

"You are amazing, this has saved me so much time when grocery shopping!"

β€” Austin, a user who reached out with feedback

"It's been a great tool since starting my journey! You take a pic of the nutrition/ingredients, and it'll warn you of anything questionable or not vegan. 😁"

β€” Ashe, a Vegan For Beginners Facebook Group member

"Use a vegan app when you go shopping, I use WhatsVegan."

β€” DΓ³ra, a Vegan For Beginners Facebook Group member

So, what is hydrogenated animal glyceride?

Hydrogenated animal glyceride is a type of fat derived from animal sources that has been processed through a hydrogenation reaction, resulting in a semi-solid form. It is commonly used in food production as a stabilizer, emulsifier, and texture enhancer. Hydrogenation improves the shelf life and stability of the ingredient, making it suitable for use in a wide range of food products, including baked goods, dairy products, and confectionery items. However, hydrogenated animal glyceride has been associated with negative health effects, including increased risk of heart disease, due to.

How to quickly find the source of ingredients like hydrogenated animal glyceride?

We've built a database of 49359 ingredients (and growing), classified as "vegan", "non-vegan", or "maybe vegan".

We use it in our vegan ingredients scanner, which is the best way to avoid non-vegan ingredients - you take a picture of a product's ingredient list, and the app tells you if the product is vegan or not.

scan ingredient listvegan ingredient checkervegan shopping made simple
Get on Google PlayGet on App Store
Stay in the loop about new WhatsVegan goodies!
We'll never send you spam.
Do you have any feedback? Drop us a line at [email protected] πŸ™Œ
The content on this website and the WhatsVegan application is not dietary advice, and it's intended for informational and educational purposes only.Terms of ServicePrivacy policy